Dr Katrina Witt

[email protected]

American Foundation for Suicide Prevention Post-Doctoral Fellow, Population Health Research Team.

Katrina is an American Foundation for Suicide Prevention Post-Doctoral Fellow with the Population Health Research Team. Her research focuses on research into the epidemiology of self-harm and suicide in the pre-hospital setting, with a view to using these insights to transform the ways in which self-harm and suicidal behaviour are treated.

In particular, her work focuses on the application of novel statistical models from econometrics and related disciplines to understand longitudinal trajectories of self-harm and their relation to self-harm repetition and suicide.

She is currently co-chair of a Special Interest Group for the International Association for Suicide Prevention (IASP); the peak body representing self-harm and suicide prevention internationally. She is also a Methods Editor for the Cochrane Collaboration.

Her work is recognised internationally, and has led to the award of numerous prizes including, most recently, the Rod Rickards Fellowship from the Australian Academy of Science and the France-Australia Science Innovation Collaboration (FASIC) (2015). She was also a finalist in the Victorian Young Achiever’s Foundation (2017), and received a commendation award for her work from the BUPA Foundation Young Researcher of the Year Award (2017).

Previously, Katrina has worked at Orygen, The National Centre of Excellence in Research in Youth Mental Health at the University of Melbourne, and at the Centre for Suicide Research at the University of Oxford in the United Kingdom. You can explore Katrina’s work on Google Scholar, ResearchGate, and Scopus.